Growing Up with Social Media…My Purpose

Growing up in the emerging in the age of the Internet, I have always been inspired to explore the social possibilities of the online world. I feel privileged to have participated in the initiation of social media technologies such as Hi5, and MySpace and can trace my Facebook use back to September 27, 2006, two years after Zuckerberg released it to the public. This means that I literally grew up with Facebook as I can trace my social, vocational and educational usage of it from my final year of high school to my final year of university. Social Media websites such as Facebook and Twitter have, like many other technologies of the past, altered the way that meaning is constructed and interpreted through the merging of convergent platforms, public, and personal communication technology. I am currently in my final year (*Phew*) of the Communications Studies Undergraduate Program at York University and have also have come to understand Social Media from a Public Relations perspective and for the way presents new opportunities for businesses as well as consumers to voice their concerns. My purpose is therefore to document this social media technology trend as it continues to evolve and shape the communications infrastructure of the world and the history of communications that McLuhan would have marveled at.

Leave a comment